Print Page | Close Window

EA Hybrid Folded Horn

Printed From: Speakerplans.com
Category: Plans
Forum Name: New Projects Forum
Forum Description: Forum for new speakerplans projects, in memory of Tony Wilkes, 1953 - 2014
URL: https://forum.speakerplans.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=85990
Printed Date: 16 April 2024 at 6:20pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.06 - https://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: EA Hybrid Folded Horn
Posted By: E.A
Subject: EA Hybrid Folded Horn
Date Posted: 25 March 2014 at 10:28pm
Hi!

I've been reading this site for a long time so it's time to write my own post. It's about a horn loaded enclosure I designed and built last year.Smile

The cab had to meet certain requisites:

Weight: <50kg
Size: have to fit in a Renault Scenic
Driver: 12-15" (because of weight), as cheap as possible (LOL)
Useable frequency: down to 45Hz
Extras: flat frequency response (can be used on its own), long throw

I was a newbie so it took me more than 3 months to figure out/learn how things work (also in woodworking). But when I finished, the result was awesome! Finally I loaded them with Fane Sovereign 15-400 speakers (also designed the enclosure around these speakers). The cabs weight stayed under 40kg (measured). The size was perfect (can fit both of them in the car).

The final result:

Measurement:

I don't know if I set the measurement tools up properly. 2 cabs from 5m (don't know how did I figured it out), SPL not calibrated.

First I had the chance to try it out in a big parking lot. The cab was placed in the car's trunk (0,5m above the ground). The whole lot started shaking over 150wRMS input and I could hear fine quality bass 50m away from it, so I've had such a big smile on my face like never before. It was clear bass in the face. Big smile

By the time I realized I missed one thing... the excursion Angry. After all, I changed the speakers to Beyma 15P1000 to achieve more SPL and more controll on the low notes.