Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Restoring / Complementing old D.A.S. Audio system
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Restoring / Complementing old D.A.S. Audio system

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote benjicube Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Restoring / Complementing old D.A.S. Audio system
    Posted: 17 April 2022 at 7:11am
Hello all!

First post here...

And this will be a long one, because I am a colossal n00b in this area, and have taken on a project where I have to learn many things along the way! (And I fully intend to study any and every subject needed, - but I am a great fan of not re-inventing the wheel every time someone needs a new car)

I have been an amateur producer, and part time studio tech for a couple of decades!
Also worked quite a few gigs as everything from hand, engineer, organizer, DJ, VJ, and everything else.

I am also quite experienced with electronics, - but I am a software developer by trade, and have absolutely ZERO professional experience with speaker design/engineering!

I have always rented/borrowed any equipment (or delegated that part), but now it was finally time to get my own system!

It will be used almost exclusively for electronic music, - Techno, Psytrance, DnB and Breakcore!

Coincidentally, a friend of a friend had a (very) old D.A.S. audio system, that me and another friend have now inherited, and are trying to turn into a functional system!

As we are going to exclusively be using this sound system for non-profit events, we are trying to do this as cheap as we can! :)

Here is a list of what we got, what is working, and what is not;

- 2 x D.A.S. Audio BASS-218 (With 2 x G-45 fully working, 1 x G-45 that had a small tear, and has been glued, and 1 x G-45 that needs a new voice coil, or a re-cone)