Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Plans > Scoops
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Scoops vs. Horns

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote -AD- Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Scoops vs. Horns
    Posted: 26 January 2007 at 1:17am
Hi all. I'm a newbie builder from the US and have a question about the two box designs. I understand that for reggae, scoops are the way to go due to the lower frequency response. Is there any other reason than this that they are preferred by most of the big uk sounds? From what I read on the site, they have a frequency dip in the 60-90 Hz range which would not make them ideal for house or hip hop, correct?? Does this dip in frequency make the bass muddier and would some double 18 reflex boxs clean up the sound if combined with scoops. I know that some sounds such as BSL used to use a combination of the two. Pros/Cons?... Also, If I were building a system for spinning house and hip hop, I would most likely want to go with around 4 PD 186 horns due to the hi fidelity?? I'm just trying to clear everything up as I spin all three types of music and am planning on building up a sound. Any input is greatly appreciated. Peace
TRE4U2NV View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TRE4U2NV Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 January 2007 at 2:41am
WELCOME 
suggest you search the forum for the answers to that question as there are many opinion to it
IM SO SECRETIVE BUT I CANT TELL YOU WHY
hikk View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hikk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 January 2007 at 3:59am