Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

System target curve and equal loudness contour

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Foca_Dacian Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: System target curve and equal loudness contour
    Posted: 28 August 2018 at 3:18pm
I need a little guidance, I am new to this:

Let's say I go to a venue where I install a PA and I have a live gig on it later.
I take out my measurement gear(dual channel FFT),choose the best position and aim for the speakers,align the system and then I have to eq it.

Is there a standard target eq curve for equing a sound system ?

I have read about the equal loudness contour and the fact that we do not hear linear (well it gets more linear at higher SPL,but still not flat).Do I have to take this into account?

What do you guys do ?

JulianDA View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JulianDA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 August 2018 at 4:31pm
Hey,

For starting, I usually choose a slightly downwards sloping curve towards higher frequencies, like something in the range of -4 to -6dB from 200Hz-10kHz. This sounds a little "warmer" than a completely flat frequency response. In addition almost everybody likes a little more low-end, so i boost the frequencys below 100Hz with a slight lowshelf of approx. +3dB (or +6, depending on the kind of music).
After this you can try to reduce the 1kHz and 2kHz content with a relatively narrow eq to your own liking. But most of the time thats not necessary for me.
But keep in mind that thats just the way i do it. i am sure there are many ways of achieving a subjectively nice sound.
corell View Drop Down
Young Croc
Young Croc