Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Total Newb looking for help with cabinet design
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Total Newb looking for help with cabinet design

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote teflongrizzly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Total Newb looking for help with cabinet design
    Posted: 02 March 2019 at 7:07pm
Hi everyone.  

I have a Gauss 4583a that I would like to use in a Bass guitar rig but I need to build a cabinet for it.  I have tried it in a small trace elliot cabinet but it sounded rather lacking which I think was because the speaker was too small.  

I'm looking for a little direction into where to look to find/figure out dimensions and specs for a cabinet.
Robbo View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Robbo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 March 2019 at 7:21pm
Gauss 4583A is a 15" driver that was designed as a subwoofer to be used in large horn loaded PA cabinets so it is completely wrong to try and use it for bass guitar---Do not waste your time as it is totally unsuitable.
teflongrizzly View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote teflongrizzly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 March 2019 at 7:23pm
Thanks for the information.  I'd still like to build a cabinet for the speaker.  Any information or advice?
teflongrizzly View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote teflongrizzly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 March 2019 at 7:25pm
Originally posted by teflongrizzly teflongrizzly wrote:

Hi everyone.