Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > Newbie Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Ultradrive DCX2496 Gain, Clip & Limiter Setup

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Young Croc
Young Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Biggus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Ultradrive DCX2496 Gain, Clip & Limiter Setup
    Posted: 29 September 2010 at 10:10am

I’m still quite new to professional PA setup so please forgive me if some of the things I ask are obtuse, but I’m still learning. I’ve done a search on the forum but can’t find direct answers to what I want to know.

At present I’m setting up my berry DCX2496, I have the X-over and outputs configured to tri-amp as my system runs three ways, tops, mids and subs. The system is wired up Mixer – EQ – DCX – Amps. I’ve read that a good method to setup a sound system is to calibrate the VU meter  levels of each device in the chain, for example if my mixer was reporting the output program is bouncing at about 0db than I’d adjust the input gain on my EQ & DCX to match this so everything is bouncing the same, I can understand the logic in doing this as if the mixer reports its not clipping then you know nothing else in the chain is either, but according the vu meters on the DCX it reports it goes to 0db then starts clipping at anything louder and the mixer/EQ has a +10db before they do, trying to put this in to logic terms does this mean I will have to always play my program material at 0db and no louder to prevent clipping or am I missing something here?