Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Other Chat > Computer Talk
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

using electronic drums for midi writing.

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Saul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: using electronic drums for midi writing.
    Posted: 10 November 2009 at 6:19pm
has anybody got much experience on this? 

being a drummer, i hate writing in midi patterns using keyboard and fingers, especially when it gets complex.

Thinking of investing in a v-drum kit partly for the advantages of being able to practice in low noise. 

but also because i often think, "wow writing what i have in my head would be much easier with a midi kit". 

Obviously you can record in audio with an acoustic kit, but i want the flexibility of sounds with midi. 

(I will always keep an acoustic kit dont worry. Tongue)

with the v-drum modules, does it allow for writing several channels at the same time? 

Sheggy View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sheggy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 November 2009 at 7:35pm
Have you ever tried one of the MPC midi controllers? How do you get on with playing the drum parts off a midi keyboard?  I program through an MPC 60 (or sometimes with my 2000XL) but always used to just play it in live through a good weighted keyboard.

But then I'm no drummer

S
Saul View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Saul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 November 2009 at 7:39pm
no no no, im talking about recording, not playing live. i wouldn't dream of playing keyboard drums live!! maybe for triggering reggae style.  

my midi controller has drum pads too, but i dont really like them. 

Sheggy View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc