Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > General Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Wedding band MTH30 x 2 enough?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ALt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Wedding band MTH30 x 2 enough?
    Posted: 09 August 2022 at 4:56pm
Hi,

I've been running an MTH30 off XLS1502 for a couple of years or so (not non stop!!) for pub band (reggae)

Might be building another MTH30 for  a covers band (mainly 80s) for weddings 

Tops wise- We already have a couple of EON 615 (dont kill me I didnt buy then Confused - woudl have gone for RCF / Yamaha / EV if it had been me ro even ALTOs) - or can use  my SLA PRO BFM cabs, but not sure if people want DIY tops at weddings tbh or how they woudl compare to the JBLs..

Will run the MTH30s off a bridged XLS1502 (so about 1500w at 4 ohm)- is this bascially a terrible idea !?

Basically looking at 100 people or so and wondered if anyone has run something similar  for live bands for similar size rooms please- We dont want concert levels , but sound mainly on dance floor for the inevitable drunken folk to have a dance- without killing granny on the side of the room or the back...

( Room sizes will vary - hope we can do up to a 30foot  wide room by up to about 60-70 foot deep I reckon. ANything bigger we'd hire in from a sound company.

Will be playing some tracks as well if they cant get a DJ with a system  - its going to be  well cheesy to be honest , already eyeing up a new headless bass and a headband...

Any advice always gratefully received!

Cheer
Conanski View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Conanski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 August 2022 at 6:08pm