Speakerplans.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Plans > Punisher and X-tro
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Xtro wiring

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nativelayer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Xtro wiring
    Posted: 06 September 2013 at 1:39pm
Hi all,
probably some silly questions, but I'm pretty new to this (although I have been reading as much on here as I can)
I'm planning to build some Xtro's and punishers for a new system (with my brother-in-law who is a v.good carpenter).
I was wondering: how would i wire the Xtro's up?
would I drive each 15" driver seperately, as well as seperately driving the 8" and 1" compression driver?

Are the horn flares avaliable still?
Thanks
chris
AM55 View Drop Down
Old Croc
Old Croc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote AM55 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 September 2013 at 1:52pm
Yes you would wire it like that.

You can either use Neutrik 8 pole Speakons and wire the 15"s on +/- 1, the 8" on +/- 2 and 1" on +/- 3, you would need 6 or 8 core speaker cable for this.

Another way would be to use 2 x 4 pole speakers and wire the 15"s on +/-1 of one connector then 8" on +/- 1 and 1" on +/- 2 of the other connector. You can use a set of 4 core cables or 1 4 core and 1 2 core cable.

The first method is pretty fail safe, the second can lead to the cables getting plugged in the wrong way round which is not a good idea, the wrong frequency through the a driver at high power can lead to burnt voice coils. I am not saying it will necessarily blow but it would be better to treat everyone like an idiot and set it up so the mistake can not be made.

You can get hold of the horn flares from Bluearan.
nativelayer View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nativelayer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 September 2013 at 9:34am